Tuesday, June 03, 2008

OLLU Benefit

Sunday, June 8, 2:00- 4:30

The Southwest School of Art & Craft hosts a reading/literary event in Our Lady of the Lake University's beautiful CHAPEL.

This event will benefit
The English Department at OLLU.

Approximately 35 poets, writers, and presenters will speak or read, including Sandra Cisneros, John Phillip Santos, Cary Clack, Jackie Claunch (President of Northwest Vista College), and Dr. Tessa Pollack (President of Our Lady of the Lake) who will offer closing remarks before the benediction.

Many poets and writers from campuses including St. Mary's University, Trinity University, University of the Incarnate Word, UTSA, and San Antonio College will be presenting. Jose Ruben de Leon will sing the invocation and the benediction; Naomi Shihab Nye and Marian Haddad will emcee the event.

There will not be a fee charged at the door though love offerings and donations are appreciated and will be accepted at the door. Those who desire to donate but who are unable to attend, please feel free to send your donations via check to Mary Francine Danis, Dean of Arts and Sciences, Our Lady of the Lake University, 411 SW 24th Street, San Antonio, Texas, 78207-4689. Whatever you are able, all donations, large and small, will be appreciated and put to excellent and necessary use. Checks should be made to OLLU English Department. Please join us as we rally around our neighbors, colleagues and friends from the Our Lady of the Lake community.

Here follows the list of readers/presenters who will each present a short poem or excerpt of prose, whether their own work or the work of another poet/writer. Though this list is presented here in alphabetical order, the readers will not appear in alphabetical order. Again, the event will begin with a sung invocation and benediction by Jose Ruben de Leon. Please join us.

: Assef Al-Jundi
Wendy Barker
Gregg Barrios
Yvette Benavides
Robert Bonazzi
John D. Brantley
Jenny Browne
Jesse Cardona
Sandra Cisneros
Cary Clack
Jackie Claunch
Nan Cuba
Marian Haddad
H. Palmer Hall
John Hammond
Rudy Harst
John Igo
Jim LaVilla-Havelin
Jo LeCouer
Bonnie Lyons
Ignacio Magaloni
Pablo Martinez
Bryce Milligan
Naomi Shihab Nye
Dr.Tessa Pollack
Barbara Ras
Carol Coffee Reposa
Olga Samples-Davis
Frances Santos
John Phillip Santos
Antoinette Winstead

For questions or additional details, please contact Marian Haddad, haddadmarian@aol.com or 210.859.7750.